Automatic docking won't work.

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
Chipmunk2
Average
Average
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:52 pm

Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Chipmunk2 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:53 pm

I have a docking computer amongst my equipment but every time I approach a docking station and get the message "Automatic Docking Available" my docking computer never works and I have to fly in manually. This wastes precious time. I am running Oolite version 1.76 on an iMac with OS 10.6.8. Should I try buying a another docking computer? I seem to remember from some time back (It's over a year since I last played) that perhaps two docking computers are required.

Ken.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13634
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Cody » Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:13 pm

You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Eric Walch » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:23 pm

Chipmunk2 wrote:every time I approach a docking station and get the message "Automatic Docking Available".
I can't remember ever having seen that message. It smells like an oxp showing that message. And maybe that oxp is also interfering with the docking computer. And make sure you use the correct key as 1.76 uses an other for fast docking than good old Oolite 1.65 did. :wink:

User avatar
Chipmunk2
Average
Average
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Chipmunk2 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:10 pm

El Viejo wrote:You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?
I'm using upper case 'D" i.e. Shift + d. This key press was the designated key from way back. I said it was about a year since I last played Oolite, but it is more like 2 years. I can't remember which version it was then. I recently got into system difficulties after downloading Oolite 1.77 during which time I inadvertantly eradicated all trace of my previous version. I therefore downloaded version 1.76 because it was said to be more stable. I have just noticed from Eric Walch's post that perhaps another key press should be used but I have no reference to it.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13634
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Cody » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:13 pm

Try 'c' or 'C' - 1.77 should be fine, and is well worth getting.

User avatar
Rorschachhamster
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Rorschachhamster » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:15 pm

Chipmunk2 wrote:
El Viejo wrote:You should update to Oolite 1.77 - which key are you using to activate the DC, btw?
I'm using upper case 'D" i.e. Shift + d. This key press was the designated key from way back. ...
And now I know why I always drop cargo first when I want to dock, and haven't played Oolite in a while... :lol: My fingers remember the 80s... :D

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Eric Walch » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:26 pm

Chipmunk2 wrote:t perhaps another key press should be used but I have no reference to it.
What about the 'Help' menu in Oolite while playing? It shows the same readMe document "in-game" that is also part of the release.

And when playing Oolite 1.77, you also can access it while playing in full screen mode. (At least when running Oolite on a Snow Leopard or newer OS.)

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Diziet Sma » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:38 pm

What, doesn't the Mac version come with a PDF of the Reference Sheet included? :shock:
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Automatic docking won't work.

Post by Eric Walch » Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:25 pm

Diziet Sma wrote:What, doesn't the Mac version come with a PDF of the Reference Sheet included? :shock:
It is included, together with the readMe file. But mac users are just like windows users: They start with throwing away readMe files. :D

Post Reply