Chart issues with Retina displays

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Post Reply
User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by kanthoney » Wed May 27, 2015 7:37 pm

There's a known issue with 1.82 on Macs with retina displays that affects the chart. We couldn't fix it properly as we're a bit short on Mac developers, especially ones with retina displays, but we did manage a workaround. This is to issue the following command from the terminal:

Code: Select all

defaults write org.aegidian.oolite issue_136_fix -bool YES
More info on github.

(Is this worth a sticky? It might be a regular bug report.)

(Edit: get the command right. Thanks, Getafix!)

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by Getafix » Thu May 28, 2015 2:48 pm

For anyone, with a retina display, who is willing to test kanthoney's new approach on this case (the one that does not need the presence of the issue_136_fix key in the defaults file), I have prepared a binary that can be downloaded from https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B__DrF ... sp=sharing

Important Note: To test that binary, you need to ensure the issue_136_fix key is NOT in your defaults file, by executing

Code: Select all

$ defaults delete org.aegidian.oolite issue_136_fix
before :!: running the downloaded binary.

EDIT #1: This binary has a watermark indicating that it is a test for issue #152.
EDIT #2: Just to clarify (or make it worse :P ) issues #136 and #152 describe the same case. Issue #136 had been addressed by a code quick fix needing also the use of the key issue_136_fix in the defaults file. Issue #152 has been opened and identified as a duplicate. However, since Issue #136 had been closed (in the rush of the Oolite 1.82 release preparation), kanthoney took the opportunity to use Issue #152 to try a proper solution.
Last edited by Getafix on Thu May 28, 2015 4:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by another_commander » Thu May 28, 2015 4:21 pm

Stickified.

netmute
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:48 pm

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by netmute » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:51 pm

Hi everyone.
I downloaded the test build. The galactic chart is now visible again on my retina Mac.
Feel free to send any coming retina test builds my way, I'm glad to help :)

User avatar
Getafix
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm
Location: A small ice asteroid, orbiting Oresrati in Galaxy 8 (a.k.a. northwest Armorica).
Contact:

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by Getafix » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:36 pm

Thank you and welcome aboard commander netmute!
"Any sufficiently advanced information is indistinguishable from noise." [Newman, Lachmann, Moore]

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13693
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by Cody » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:45 pm

What the Penguinista said!
Their dreams a tattered sail in the wind

User avatar
staggerlee
Competent
Competent
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:24 am
Location: South Surrey, BC

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by staggerlee » Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:14 am

Hmmm. Brand new iMac retina 27" 3.5ghz won't display the galactic chart. I DLed the binary from Getafix, but now have this problem (note galactic chart still doesn't work). I have not tried any other fixes yet. Just reporting this.
The whole game is in the bottom left corner (this stays the same when in fullscreen).

http://i.imgur.com/Zr3TjF9.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/HUz6KZH.jpg

llima3000
Harmless
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Chart issues with Retina displays

Post by llima3000 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:52 pm

I just installed this development version and got the following behavior: When I go out from full screen mode and come back the screen is only showed in 1/4 of the screen. Then I need to change from desktops (desktop 1 to 2 and come back) to fix the screen again...

Thanks and regards!

Life long and prosper!

Post Reply