Buying a Mac

Discussion and announcements regarding the Mac port… er, original version of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
maaarcooose
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 9:36 pm
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by maaarcooose » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:05 am

I'm running OOlite on a base model MacBook Pro, end of 2011 model with an Intel graphics chipset and an i5.
OOlite runs lovely and smooth with Griffs ships, and plenty of other OXP's. Most of the time, the fans don't even kick in.

I also played through all of Portal2 on it on fairly decent settings.

Okay, I'm not gonna be able to play FarCry3 on it, but it's pretty good for an Intel chipset.

Also, I really don't regret moving over to a mac. It's way better built than any other laptop I've had in the past.

!m!
Trading computers and writing stuff....
Website: http://www.theramist.co.uk/
OOliteInfo: http://www.theramist.co.uk/ooliteinfo/oo.php

Hans Olo
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by Hans Olo » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:51 pm

My main Oolite computer is a old PPC eMac with 1 gig of ram and Oolite runs fine. It won't do certain intensive oxps or shaders or anything, but it runs smoothly. Especially when considering that this is a six year old computer. So I figure that if you can use a computer in day to day life, you can use it for oolite.

User avatar
maaarcooose
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 394
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 9:36 pm
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by maaarcooose » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:36 am

Hans Olo wrote:My main Oolite computer is a old PPC eMac with 1 gig of ram and Oolite runs fine. It won't do certain intensive oxps or shaders or anything, but it runs smoothly. Especially when considering that this is a six year old computer. So I figure that if you can use a computer in day to day life, you can use it for oolite.
Not sure why, but I've got a real hankering for an old mac like a G4 12" macbook, an iBook an original iMac or a cube or something like that.

!m!
Trading computers and writing stuff....
Website: http://www.theramist.co.uk/
OOliteInfo: http://www.theramist.co.uk/ooliteinfo/oo.php

Hans Olo
Dangerous
Dangerous
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:01 am

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by Hans Olo » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:52 pm

maaarcooose wrote: Not sure why, but I've got a real hankering for an old mac like a G4 12" macbook, an iBook an original iMac or a cube or something like that.

!m!
I can relate. I would love to get one of those clamshell iBooks, even if only for word processing and email

User avatar
Yodeebe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Namab

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by Yodeebe » Sun May 26, 2013 2:07 pm

Hiya.
Quick FPS question, just wondering why my max FPS seems to be 60FPS, when others on this thread are talking 99FPS.
2.4GHz core2duo imac
lots of ram.
Image

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13634
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by Cody » Sun May 26, 2013 2:12 pm

Try turning the v-sync off in your gfx settings - I get 75 (which matches my monitor's refresh rate), but with v-sync turned off I get 99 (but I get tearing).

I should add that I'm a Windows user - I know zilch about Macs.

User avatar
Eric Walch
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Slightly Grand Rear Admiral
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Buying a Mac

Post by Eric Walch » Wed May 29, 2013 7:08 am

Yodeebe, which Oolite version are you using? Up until 1.76 I got 60 fps as maximum in full screen. Only since 1.77 I reach 100 fps in full screen. In windowed mode you always could have values up to 100.

Post Reply