Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:14 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:31 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 3026
Location: On a famous planet
Working now. At 4k with 199 FPS.

_________________
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:16 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5055
Quote:
Working now. At 4k with 199 FPS.
The game caps the FPS to 200 so that it doesn't tax the CPU unnecessarily, but it may be possible that your card can achieve even more than that at 4K. Want to see how deep the rabbit hole goes? If so, open your .GNUstepDefaults file inside the game's GNUstep/Defaults foder and add (or edit, if it already exists) the line:
animation_timer_interval = 0.001;
This will instruct the game to go for 1000 FPS, if it can make it. You probably won't get that far at 4K, but your will max out the performance. So, how many fps do you get? ;-)

@gsagostinho: I think it is not practical to add it in options, because v-sync is set once at startup and that's it, it can't be changed later. But setting it with -novsync at the command line is not the only option. You can achieve the same by editing your .GNUstepDefaults and setting "v-sync" = no; as the new default startup status.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:33 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 453
Quote:
@gsagostinho: I think it is not practical to add it in options, because v-sync is set once at startup and that's it, it can't be changed later. But setting it with -novsync at the command line is not the only option. You can achieve the same by editing your .GNUstepDefaults and setting "v-sync" = no; as the new default startup status.
I see. The solution of editing the .GNUstepDefaults is practical enough though, thanks for the info.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am
Posts: 199
Quote:
I wanted to start also. But it won't start also. Which trunk version do I have to get to get this on? I believe I have the latest trunk
I had to run the trunk-install again and this time I didn't load any OXPs at all. After doing this, dropping in the test oolite.exe worked for me. You might try the same.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:07 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am
Posts: 199
Quote:

Not sure why it did not restore the desktop back to the original state. I am trying to replicate this (using lower than 4K resolutions of course) and it always, consistently, returns me to the desktop resolution at the time of the game's launch. I am thinking possible driver fault here, but I can't really prove anything because there is not enough information to reach a conclusion.
Thanks for the comments and the assistance.
The same video driver consistently restores the desktop resolution just fine when running 1.84 production release, so many the culprit is in the new DPI-sensitive code somehow?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:40 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 3026
Location: On a famous planet
Quote:
Quote:
Working now. At 4k with 199 FPS.
The game caps the FPS to 200 so that it doesn't tax the CPU unnecessarily, but it may be possible that your card can achieve even more than that at 4K. Want to see how deep the rabbit hole goes? If so, open your .GNUstepDefaults file inside the game's GNUstep/Defaults foder and add (or edit, if it already exists) the line:
animation_timer_interval = 0.001;
This will instruct the game to go for 1000 FPS, if it can make it. You probably won't get that far at 4K, but your will max out the performance. So, how many fps do you get? ;-)

@gsagostinho: I think it is not practical to add it in options, because v-sync is set once at startup and that's it, it can't be changed later. But setting it with -novsync at the command line is not the only option. You can achieve the same by editing your .GNUstepDefaults and setting "v-sync" = no; as the new default startup status.


Ok here we go.

Test result from my machine at 4k resolution.

GPU: EVGA 1070GTX with 8GB Vram
Motherboard: MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon, ATX, S1151, 4xDDR4
Processor: Intel Core i7-7700K, 4.2Ghz, 8MB, S1151

Vanilla Oolite:


Flying toward sun: FPS fluctuating between 547 and 801 FPS
Black space flying toward nothing: 889 FPS
Flying toward planet: 578 FPS

At Zaonce Wichpoint 422FPS at 80 entities
At Jumpspeed J toward nothing 992 FPS
Docking 750+ FPS

_________________
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:47 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13046
Location: Corke's Drift
Nice kit - which monitor?

_________________
Overall, there is a smell of fried onions!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:05 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 3026
Location: On a famous planet
Quote:
Nice kit - which monitor?

This one:

http://www.lg.com/uk/monitors/lg-27UD58-B

Youtube review:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4t8GKHRT58

_________________
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:29 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 3026
Location: On a famous planet
With a lot of OXP's enabled + Periln_3d planets enabled it still is running at about 280 FPS. Happy :).

_________________
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 1:06 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5055
This is a test for Bogatyr's case of not returning to 4K desktop resolution if a different resolution is set as the fullscreen one. The objective is to determine whether the high DPI awareness code has anything to do with it.

The file downloadable from here contains a 32 and a 64 bit exe. Please ensure to use the correct one, depending on which nightly build type you have installed (32 or 64 bit). As always, unzip the correct binary to the oolite.app folder of the nightly undergoing test.

Running the executable normally will launch it with high DPI awareness. Try to replicate the problem and see what happens. Then run again the executable, but this time run it from the command line and use the "-noDPIAware" option. Alternatively, you can edit .GNUstepDefaults if you prefer and add the key "DPIAware = NO;" before running the game. You can do whatever feels easier and simpler to you. This will start the game completely bypassing all DPI awareness code, which is the same as how 1.84 does it. Try to replicate the problem. What happens in this case?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited