Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:42 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:16 am
Posts: 60
Location: Canary Islands (spain)
Hi!
I love povray planets and it has been a long time I’ve installed them.
I have now noticed that this new oolite version makes a strange effect on some povray planets (volcanic, gaseosus….).
I think that the cloud layers is to blame.
The unlit side of the planets works really fine.
I would like to know if there is any way to disable the cloud layers.
“Game options----graphic details” only allows me to disable the unlit side of the planets,I don't want to do this, I only want to disable The cloud layers.
Thanks!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5055
You can set the cloud layer to be fully transparent if you edit the planetinfo.plist key cloud_alpha = 1.000000; for the system you are interested in and change the 1.0 to 0.0.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:14 am 
Offline
Competent
Competent
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:16 am
Posts: 60
Location: Canary Islands (spain)
Hi!
This solution works, although changing one at a time will be a tough job to do!!
Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:32 am 
Offline
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am
Posts: 5055
Quote:
Hi!
This solution works, although changing one at a time will be a tough job to do!!
Thanks!
Oh, you want to change every system? OK, no problem, just add the key cloud_alpha = 0.0; in the section of the planetinfo.plist named "universal". That should apply the change globally.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:44 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:16 am
Posts: 60
Location: Canary Islands (spain)
There is no accounting for taste.
Image
I am sure that there will be many people who prefer the left picture!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:05 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13046
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
I am sure that there will be many people who prefer the left picture!!!
I had a planetinfo.plist which removed clouds and atmospheres from all 191 Povray gas giants - ran with it 'til P3D hit. If wanted, it's here (I think).

_________________
Overall, there is a smell of fried onions!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:00 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 10:16 am
Posts: 60
Location: Canary Islands (spain)
Hi!
I´ve downloaded your file and i find it useful although the file only includes galaxy 1.
I am also going to change other types of planets.
Thanks, Cody and Another_commander for your help!!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:37 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13046
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
... although the file only includes galaxy 1.
Oh, something wrong there - I'll have a trawl through my archive.

My mistake - this should be the correct version.

_________________
Overall, there is a smell of fried onions!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:54 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 453
Cody, that's really great, thanks a lot! I have been playing with P3D for the last couple of days but I am still not 100% convinced and I might be turning back to Povray soon.

One question: how exactly do you use this plist? I have eight different directories for the Povray Planets, one for each galaxy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:06 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13046
Location: Corke's Drift
I have a Config folder within my AddOns folder - that is the ideal place for such plists.

It could probably be condensed into just two lines for each of the 191 systems.

_________________
Overall, there is a smell of fried onions!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:25 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 1:09 pm
Posts: 453
Quote:
I have a Config folder within my AddOns folder - that is the ideal place for such plists.
Great, many thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phkb and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited