Progress

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Progress

Post by kanthoney » Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:59 pm

Thanks. I've fixed it so that if the marker's on the home system when you jump it moves along, but otherwise stays where you put it.

User avatar
Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1343
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: Progress

Post by Redspear » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:55 pm

Cody wrote:F7 is really crying-out for more system info/background - even if it's only padding.
I have 20 odd strings ready to go (more or less) once I work out how to let planet description = planet description + "..." (can't be too hard I'd have thought).

Examples (itailicised text is variable):
  • Zaonceian culture values cleanliness above all else.

    Laveians pride themselves on being sophisticated whilst most outsiders consider them to be annoying.

    Did you know that in Isbaenian culture it is considered extremely amourous to offer a tax return to a traffic warden?

    Never, ever mention interior decorating to a Riedquatian, for fear of incontinence.

    Highly recommended to the first time visitor is the underrated Isinorian platter - an experience you'll never wish to repeat.

The word pools are just big enough to create entries that appear serious, others silly and even some that are contrary but they all add something for me.
"With our thoughts, we make the world" :-) - - - Game too slow for you? Masslock Compensators - - - Trouble getting out of trouble? Indestructible Injectors

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2415
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Progress

Post by phkb » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:37 am

Finally got a moment to check out the F7 screen changes - I love them! Top work, guys! A quick question, though: is there anyway to tell if the player has just changed system on the F7 screen? The guiScreenChanged event doesn't fire, so I was wondering if some other event was raised?

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Progress

Post by kanthoney » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:57 am

Not currently. I'll look into adding one, though.

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Progress

Post by kanthoney » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:51 pm

The event infoSystemChanged is now emitted when you move the cursor along the ANA route. I've also added the property player.ship.infoSystem, which is read/write - if you set this while in the chart it'll scroll the system into view, and in F7 it'll change the system. The system doesn't have to be on the ANA route.

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Progress

Post by kanthoney » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:53 pm

Oh yeah, the parameters of the infoSystemChanged event are (from, to), the id's of the old and new info systems.

User avatar
Wildeblood
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2161
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:07 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Progress

Post by Wildeblood » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:58 am

kanthoney wrote:I've also added the property player.ship.infoSystem, which is read/write - if you set this while in the chart it'll scroll the system into view, and in F7 it'll change the system.
Slideshow OXP to cycle through them all, someone, please, thank you. It should be trivial to make.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2415
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Progress

Post by phkb » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:15 pm

kanthoney wrote:The event infoSystemChanged is now emitted when you move the cursor along the ANA route. I've also added the property player.ship.infoSystem, which is read/write
That's great! Thanks for the quick turnaround!
kanthoney wrote:Oh yeah, the parameters of the infoSystemChanged event are (from, to), the id's of the old and new info systems.
Um, I don't mean to be picky, but given that the alertConditionChanged event puts the new condition first, old condition second, and both the guiScreenChanged and guiScreenWillChange events put the new screen ID first, the old one second, could perhaps the new infoSystemChanged event could follow the same pattern? Maybe? Pretty-please?

Also, I've just been running some tests on the current code, and noticed something odd with the infoSystem property when accessed in the infoSystemChanged event. I used this code:

Code: Select all

this.infoSystemChanged = function(from, to) {
	log(this.name, "infoSysChanged from = " + from + ", to = " + to + ", curr = " + player.ship.infoSystem);
}
And what I saw was that from and to are displaying the correct system ID's, but player.ship.infoSystem is reading the "from" ID, not the "to" ID when accessed at this point. Is the event occurring before the infoSystem property is updated?

User avatar
kanthoney
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

Re: Progress

Post by kanthoney » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:29 pm

Good spot - both of those should be fixed.

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2415
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Progress

Post by phkb » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:51 pm

Wait, wha?! :shock: Already?!

*ahem*

In the words of William Shakespeare: "You da man!"

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13652
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Progress

Post by Cody » Fri Apr 29, 2016 4:26 pm

Authorized? <scratches head>

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5397
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Re: Progress

Post by another_commander » Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:20 pm

What do you know, this thread dropped to second page, we must be going slow with features, it seems. :-)

Anyway, just wanted to let you know that from tonight's nightly we will have the new atmosphere shaders in the game for everyone to enjoy.

The new shader is available at the highest detail level, while the effect we had till now is still available at detail levels below that. The generated effect fades out when diving into the atmosphere or when moving far away from the planet and both its fade in/out distance and rate are planet radius dependent.

Let us know if you discover any issues with it. Below you can see a couple of pictures of the new atmosphere effect on Lave (with Povray Planets OXP) and pics during the test runs have already been posted here, here, here, here and here.
Image Image

Full credit and thanks to Commander_X for this contribution.

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13652
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Progress

Post by Cody » Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:51 pm

Aye, kudos to Commander_X - very nice work.

Astrobe
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: Progress

Post by Astrobe » Fri Sep 23, 2016 6:09 pm

Is it possible to extract the relevant shader files from the dev version and inject them in my installation (1.84)?

User avatar
Cody
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Posts: 13652
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Corke's Drift
Contact:

Re: Progress

Post by Cody » Fri Sep 23, 2016 6:12 pm

It requires the new trunk nightly .exe to work.

Post Reply