Screenshots

General discussion for players of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

User avatar
Kaks
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 3009
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Big Smoke

Post by Kaks »

The trader outpost, as well as the burning coriolis, can be found in the shaders outpost thread.
Here's the post about the trader outpost.
Hey, free OXPs: farsun v1.05 & tty v0.5! :0)

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

Well, to my knowledge there is no "trade outpost oxp". I think for the time being the whole thing is just a shader example by Griff, so most likely it can be found in the Shaders' Outpost thread, especially in this post of his.

EDIT: This time Kaks was faster. :wink:

User avatar
CaptKev
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Post by CaptKev »

Found it! The outpost is in the busy ports OXP here:

http://www.aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.ph ... c&start=15
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki

User avatar
Griff
Oolite 2 Art Director
Oolite 2 Art Director
Posts: 2307
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:29 pm
Location: Wales

Post by Griff »

hi CaptKev, the busy ports oxp is sort of in limbo at the moment, plus it's also fairly old and doesn't have any shaders, so if you want the 'trade outpost' with all the glowy lights and ads and stuff you can find it in the link Commander McLane posted above.
If anybody wants any of the ships out of the busy ports oxp then feel free to grab them.

User avatar
CaptKev
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 519
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Location: Shropshire, UK

Post by CaptKev »

Thanks Griff, I've got your new trade outpost with the lights and ads, but the original one from busy ports is still my favourite.
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5742
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

I see plenty of talk and few screens. So lets warm the place up a bit shall we?
Image

Image

Taken using external views with 1.71's hud-off capability.

User avatar
Captain Hesperus
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Grand High Clock-Tower Poobah
Posts: 2312
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Anywhere I can sell Trumbles.....

Post by Captain Hesperus »

@ another_commander - Well, thank you very much! Your screenshots just caused me to have a 'trouser accident'. :evil:

;)
Nah, they really are fabulous. Now I have to go and lie down....

Captain Hesperus
The truth, revealed!!
Image

User avatar
TGHC
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 2157
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK

Post by TGHC »

You development guys and Griff etc must be really proud of your work and what you have achieved, I'm sure that Giles must be seriously impressed too!

Orgasmic is the only word I can use to describe what you have done! I'm off to have a multi!
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5742
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

Thanks for the kind words guys. The following ones were taken by slightly "cheating". I used a locally modified game engine that basically generates 10 times more stars and nebulae in the system. But I think they look nice. Here goes:

Cobra MkIII travelling towards destination planet.
Image

My God! It's full of stars!
(Yes, this is a true Oolite screenshot)
Image

One more Thargoid Invasion Ship goes down under heavy Navy fire:
Image

and finally, be sure to run like crazy if you see this approaching you:
Image

User avatar
Disembodied
Jedi Spam Assassin
Jedi Spam Assassin
Posts: 6532
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:54 pm
Location: Carter's Snort

Post by Disembodied »

Staggering, just staggering! I cheered at the Navy image, and purged my tanks when I saw the Imperial Courier!

User avatar
JensAyton
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Posts: 6657
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by JensAyton »

another_commander wrote:My God! It's full of stars!
(Yes, this is a true Oolite screenshot)
Image
Wow, that additive blending is powerful stuff. :-)

User avatar
pagroove
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 3035
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Location: On a famous planet

Post by pagroove »

Great screenshots!,

I would like to have that 'modified game engine' of yours
For P.A. Groove's music check
https://soundcloud.com/p-a-groove
Famous Planets v 2.7. (for Povray)
Image
http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13709

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5742
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

In the next few days, I will be checking in some code that will enable users to control the number of stars shown in-system, by introducing star and nebula count multipliers in planetinfo.plist. A value of 1 for these multipliers will mean things are shown as now.

But it looks like the release of v1.71.1 is imminent, so this goes to the backburner for the moment.

User avatar
Commander McLane
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Posts: 9520
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 am
Location: a Hacker Outpost in a moderately remote area
Contact:

Post by Commander McLane »

another_commander wrote:In the next few days, I will be checking in some code that will enable users to control the number of stars shown in-system, by introducing star and nebula count multipliers in planetinfo.plist. A value of 1 for these multipliers will mean things are shown as now.
???

Aren't those already there? Namely sky_n_stars and sky_n_blurs? (Although due to a copy&paste-error they didn't work correctly previous to 1.71? One of you code wizards fixed that quite recently. Incidentally, it was you :wink: .)

another_commander
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Quite Grand Sub-Admiral
Posts: 5742
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:54 am

Post by another_commander »

Yes these two are there, but if I am not mistaken, they can only be used for specific systems (i.e. you have to tell the game that you are changing system 7 in galaxy 0 (Lave)), while the one I am about to do applies to all.

If I am mistaken, then I just wasted half an hour of my life :-). The change is done and already working (not yet in SVN though).

Post Reply