Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:32 pm 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
You could create a new commodity called "Slag" or something like that (defined as costing nothing, and no systems have it available), add 1t of it whenever ore is processed and produces gold/platinum/gemstones, transfer the processed cargo directly into the ship's safe and remove the splinter from the cargo hold. You could then utilise the functionality of the Bulk Cargo Processor to either dump or destroy the slag. Let me know if you need help doing this. I think it would be easy enough to implement. See the [EliteWiki] Trade-goods.plist wiki page for documentation on how to define a new commodity, and you could check out the Fuel Tweaks OXP for an example.

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:52 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Posts: 2456
Location: Finland
Interesting idea. How about making it an upgrade to the processor? With the basic processor you just get a lumb of whatever mineral it gives, but with an upgraded processor, the lumb is further processed to a more easily storageable form. It could also be so, that the andvanced processor is only available/possible for ships with big enough cargo space. The original processor attaches to the scoops, thus not taking space in the hold. More processing could mean sacrificing some cargo hold for the machinery. Just a thought.

Oh. And if someone seriously wants to take this oxp over, give it some love and much needed attention, I'm more than happy to step aside :mrgreen: .


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:13 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 1707
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
Quote:
The original processor attaches to the scoops, thus not taking space in the hold.
Really? Oops. In Ship Config I've made the Ore Processor take up 5t of equipment space. Might have to rethink that one!

_________________
My OXP's


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:37 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:42 am
Posts: 39
Location: Leicester UK
I'm sorely tempted by the idea of taking over Ore Processor. I really like the slag idea and making it a further upgrade to the ore processor. It's exactly what I had in mind. I've already mixed together sounds for the scanning and processing that I like better and added them to my custom version of Ore Processor.

I may upload those sounds for people to give feedback on a bit later.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:51 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:42 am
Posts: 39
Location: Leicester UK
https://bitbucket.org/NewtSoup/oolite/d ... rocess.ogg - Processing sound

https://bitbucket.org/NewtSoup/oolite/d ... p_scan.ogg - scanning sound


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:22 pm 
Offline
Competent
Competent

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:42 am
Posts: 39
Location: Leicester UK
Quote:
Oh. And if someone seriously wants to take this oxp over, give it some love and much needed attention, I'm more than happy to step aside :mrgreen: .
Yes, I'd like to take over this OXP. I'm a carebear at heart ( EVE online reference there ) and I like my mining vessels and features. I'm probably a good person to hand the baton to. I have plans and they do involve Ore Processor.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Ore Processor
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:50 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:52 am
Posts: 184
Or, you could use the Vacuum Pump, which is what I did when I was mining for precious metals/gems with a ship with a tiny hold. There are some bugs in Vacuum Pump that I fixed at one point but didn't get submitted back to the released OXP. Maybe I'll try to repeat those fixes again now that I'm Oolite-ing again...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited