[RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Discussion and information relevant to creating special missions, new ships, skins etc.

Moderators: winston, another_commander

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

[RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Zireael » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:03 pm

Grab it from my Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/bdmej4larnhssgd/Cyan-HUD.zip

Image

Features:
[*] big scanner like the one in past versions of Numeric HUD
[*] percentage labels for shield readouts like the ones for energy in CBB HUD
[*] shield, energy and laser dials grouped around the crosshairs similar to Combat HUD's Red Alert mode
[*] up to 4 MFDs in front view
[*] cyan color!

User avatar
mossfoot
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 827
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by mossfoot » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:22 pm

I am intrigued and will be trying this!

Also, what font is that? Part of the HUD package or a complete font change?

Also, how about a widescreen verson for those with, 16:9ish type screens?

Are you going to OXZ that puppy? ;)
Last edited by mossfoot on Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
--
Image
Pilot: Mossfoot - Ship ID: Viaticus Rex (Cobra MKII)
Rank: Competent - Status: Clean

http://www.noahchinnbooks.com/

User avatar
Redspear
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:22 pm

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Redspear » Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:55 pm

Intrigued by the colour. Cyan and green were often text colours I'd use on a black screen when clumsily programming on my spectrum years ago :mrgreen: ...

I like the idea of the MFDs but they seem to be taking over the screen in a lot of HUDs lately.
Has anyone tried/enabled them without the green background? :|

Anyway, cyan seems like a nice colour choice to me but (and shoot me down in flames here if you want...) might it be shown off better in a screenshot with more of a starfield backdrop rather than an essentially cyan planet?
"With our thoughts, we make the world" :-) - - - Game too slow for you? Masslock Compensators - - - Trouble getting out of trouble? Indestructible Injectors

User avatar
Diziet Sma
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 6310
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Aboard the Pitviper S.E. "Blackwidow"

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Diziet Sma » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:28 am

I'd suggest moving the scanner zoom ratio indicator over to that empty spot to the immediate left of the scanner, rather than have it overlapping the scanner display itself..

Very nice job, however!
Most games have some sort of paddling-pool-and-water-wings beginning to ease you in: Oolite takes the rather more Darwinian approach of heaving you straight into the ocean, often with a brick or two in your pockets for luck. ~ Disembodied

User avatar
mossfoot
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 827
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by mossfoot » Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:09 am

got a weird radar echo going on here...

Image
--
Image
Pilot: Mossfoot - Ship ID: Viaticus Rex (Cobra MKII)
Rank: Competent - Status: Clean

http://www.noahchinnbooks.com/

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Zireael » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:48 am

The font is Font:Dangerous, and it's not included.

The cyan planet was a happy coincidence :P

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Smivs » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:57 am

Zireael wrote:The font is Font:Dangerous, and it's not included.
i have found that using Font:Dangerous can upset the spacing of text on HUDs, so a HUD designed using it may not look so good with the default font. Admittedly my problem was with an earlier version, but thought this was worth a mention just in case.
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

SARR
Competent
Competent
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:32 am

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by SARR » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:34 pm

great hud, but I´ve got the same troubles as mossfoot.......can they be resolved somehow?

User avatar
Captain Beatnik
Deadly
Deadly
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Eastern Bavaria (Average Agricultural Confederacy)

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Captain Beatnik » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:51 pm

mossfoot wrote:got a weird radar echo going on here...

Image
I´m not sure if this is a little bug or a feature. The doubled scanner is displayed once the scanner enhancement is installed because the entry in the hud.plist for the enhanced scanner has a different y-origin and y-coordinate than the normal scanner. This can easily be tweaked by editing the hud.plist:

{ // scanner
selector = "drawScanner:";
x = 2;
y = -188;
y_origin = 0;
height = 120.0;
width = 480.0;
rgb_color = (0.0, 0.8, 0.8 );
alpha = 0.50;
},

After changing the three red marked values, installing the scanner enhancement will no longer cause an echo, the scanner will only glow a little bit brighter.

A very nice HUD btw, good work! :D If I may make a suggestion, I would suggest to use new alert_conditions key from Oolite 1.80 to hide the dials around the crosshairs when docked.
I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.
(Douglas Adams, 1952 - 2001)

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Zireael » Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:51 am

Heh, thanks for spotting the bug, will fix soon.

Also, I'm bad at Maths, what would be the number required to hide the dials when docked? I only know the individual numbers for green, yellow and red... :oops:

User avatar
spara
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2550
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Location: Finland

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by spara » Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:55 am

Zireael wrote:Heh, thanks for spotting the bug, will fix soon.

Also, I'm bad at Maths, what would be the number required to hide the dials when docked? I only know the individual numbers for green, yellow and red... :oops:
According to [EliteWiki] the wiki that would be 1.

SARR
Competent
Competent
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:32 am

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by SARR » Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:13 am

another question: on my pc the hud looks exactly the same as mossfoot shows on his screenshot. I mean I do not have the cool info boxes in the corners. Is this yet another bug or do I have to install another oxp?

User avatar
spara
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 2550
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:19 am
Location: Finland

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by spara » Thu Jul 17, 2014 7:21 am

The boxes are MFDs and you need oxps (look for MFDs under the HUDs category) that provide them and you need to select and activate them with ; and :.

User avatar
Smivs
Retired Assassin
Retired Assassin
Posts: 8408
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:31 am
Location: Disunited Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Smivs » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:11 am

spara wrote:
Zireael wrote:...what would be the number required to hide the dials when docked? I only know the individual numbers for green, yellow and red... :oops:
According to [EliteWiki] the wiki that would be 1.
Please note that the numbers are cumulative - you need to add them up.
the wiki wrote:In Oolite 1.79 or later, this controls which alert conditions the dial appears at. It is a number from 0 to 15, formed by adding together the numbers for the individual alert conditions - 1=docked, 2=green, 4=yellow, 8=red.
so a feature that is not required when docked would need

Code: Select all

alert_conditions = 14;
which is 2(green)+4(yellow)+8(red)=14
Commander Smivs, the friendliest Gourd this side of Riedquat.

Zireael
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
Posts: 1396
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm

Re: [RELEASE] Cyan HUD

Post by Zireael » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:46 pm


Post Reply