Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 700 posts ]  Go to page Previous 143 44 45 46 47 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 10:56 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 482
Location: Paris
Quote:
the effect can depend on the distance of the jump to show different distorsions in various speeds caused by the nonlinear distance vs. travel time formula.
I like that, especially it it is noticeable.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 6:58 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 1396
I like Norby's idea of varying jump effects, too.

Where do I put those new effects for testing? I might have some time tomorrow...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 2:05 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 2313
Quote:
One last question: would it be hard to replace the black rectangle of death of the docking transition in BGS with the (say) manifest image background?
Sure, it's possible, but I think it would be better to add a second visual effect. The same shader is used for docking and launching (with only a time offset) so you'd need to handle this as well. Or separate them - then it's just another texture lookup replacing the line with discard.
Quote:
Where do I put those new effects for testing? I might have some time tomorrow...
If you are using the OXZ, then you only need to place these files in the AddOns folder, e.g. in My.oxp\shaders and My.oxp\textures. If you want the more colorful settings you'll need to change .bgsHyperControl in BGS-M.js though. The released script only uses 0,0 1,0 or 0,1 atm.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:33 am 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 204
Quote:
Sure, it's possible, but I think it would be better to add a second visual effect. The same shader is used for docking and launching (with only a time offset) so you'd need to handle this as well. Or separate them - then it's just another texture lookup replacing the line with discard.
Thank you, the hint with discard helped!
For the record:
- it's quite easy to handle docking/launching cases, as the time offset is an int to signal the launching (thus 0 when docking).
- these are the trivial changes (for BGS-A_1.10.9) if anyone is curious enough to see how it maps:
1. in effectdata.plist:
a. add a
Code:
,{name="../Images/bgs-i_statusdocked.png"; repeat_s = false; repeat_t = false;}
(notice the comma, it's not a mistake) line in the [b]textures = {...}[/b] section for [b]bgs_docking[/b] effect
b. insert a
Code:
bgImage = {type = texture; value = 1;};
line after [b]diffuseMap = {...}[/b] in the [b]uniforms[/b] subsection of the above.
2. in the bgs_docking.fragment:
a. add a
Code:
uniform sampler2D bgImage;
line after the similar one with [b]diffuseMap[/b]
b. replace the
Code:
if(dt>0.1) discard;
line with
Code:
if(dt>0.1)
      {
        if (timeOffset != 1) 
        col = texture2D(bgImage,vec2(0.5 + vTexCoord.st.x, 0.5 - vTexCoord.st.y)).rgb;
        else
          discard;
      }
The only thing that doesn't pan quite right is the shader mapping of the background image (the one in-game is mapped by setScreenBackground), thus at the end you get a slight zoom-like effect.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:43 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 2313
@Commander_X: But be aware that this adds even more branching. Probably it's time to redo this shader.

Edit: I guess it doesn't hurt to pass the coloring of the tint and glowing lines as uniform.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:13 pm 
Offline
Deadly
Deadly

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:16 pm
Posts: 204
Quote:
@Commander_X: But be aware that this adds even more branching. Probably it's time to redo this shader.
I won't redo it! :D (I know! I know! It was not me you were referring at.)
On a more serious note, why not work from your old animation demo with a different setup -- e.g. a short zoom in the station interior faded to the docked background? I think the interior view of the station model as is, should be enough for the visual suggestion, without any extra modeling of the docks. Maybe a bit of playing with the lighting, to avoid the "duplication" of the scenery.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:55 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 2313
Quote:
On a more serious note, why not work from your old animation demo with a different setup -- e.g. a short zoom in the station interior faded to the docked background? I think the interior view of the station model as is, should be enough for the visual suggestion, without any extra modeling of the docks. Maybe a bit of playing with the lighting, to avoid the "duplication" of the scenery.
It's not possible to get this right. The docking effect has to be done as VisualEffect with the is_break_pattern = true; flag when Oolite fires shipWillDockWithStation. When the status changes to docked any VisualEffect will be discarded (VisualEffects are inflight effects). This means the effect ends (although it still runs) before the background e.g. through screenbackgrounds.plist is displayed. All you can do is to fade to black before Oolite discards it.

And doing complex animations with lots of subentities, shaders and heavy scripts is probably not the way to make it faster .-) Before we switched to the docking tunnel I thought about doing a little bit more complex things (see pic) using moved decals, animated cockpit elements and some noise, but it was simply too slow (even in v1.77.1).

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:02 pm 
Offline
Thargoid
Thargoid
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:55 pm
Posts: 5510
Simpler stuff is possible though - for example install Aquatics and go visit their HQ in G3 (Aqualina, the system formerly known as Ribiara before the OXZ renames it).

_________________
My OXPs via Boxspace or from my Wiki pages :D.

Thargoid TV
Dropbox Referral Link


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:29 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
Strangest paint job I've seen on a Cobra MK III (and BGS seems to be missing the 'Price' display - is anyone maintaining BGS?).
The manifest of BGS is in my account, although I can not promise active maintenance.
I am not understanding your price problem, what would you like to see which is not in the linked image?

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:38 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13193
Location: Corke's Drift
Quote:
I am not understanding your price problem, what would you like to see which is not in the linked image?
Marked - core game displays the price there as part of the description (I think). Also, there should be a space between model. and Price:

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:03 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 9:53 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: Budapest, Hungary (Mainly Agricultural Democracy, TL10)
Quote:
core game displays the price there as part of the description (I think). Also, there should be a space between model. and Price:
At me there is a price value and space also both with and without BGS. Could you check without BGS to confirm it is not BGS realted and other shipyards with another ships?

_________________
OXPs by Norby


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:11 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13193
Location: Corke's Drift
Virgin Oolite 1.82 has the price (and the space) as it should - strange one. I'll disable BGS in 1.83 and check again.

Edit to add: with BGS disabled, it doesn't display correctly in 1.83.0.6639-151127-1a26ab5 - so not BGS (I think).
Virgin trunk is fine - so begins the hunt for which expansion is causing it. <scratches head>

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:53 pm 
Offline
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
Sharp Shooter Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 13193
Location: Corke's Drift
The culprit seems to be my personal descriptions.plist - odd, is that.

_________________
Knowledge is a deadly friend, if no-one sets the rules
The fate of all mankind, I see, is in the hands of fools


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 4:07 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:52 pm
Posts: 2313
[EliteWiki] BGS 2.0 is available. Documentation may follow .-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:25 am 
Offline
Commodore
Commodore
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Posts: 2022
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...
I'm not sure if this is a bug or a feature, but the sound effects that play when you go to the various function screens (eg F8) play even when in space! I think they should only play when docked. This is BGS v2.0

_________________
My OXP's
YouTube: Oolite Teaser Trailer


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 700 posts ]  Go to page Previous 143 44 45 46 47 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited