Page 1 of 1

Internal key assignment tool

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:36 pm
by Astrobe
I've seen that in 1.79 will have a new screen for OXP management.

Maybe while in the screens, could you implement a key assignment tool? I know there is a browser-based tool, but it does not cut it for me.

The basic problem is that the game apparently uses key scancodes instead of ASCII values. As a result, for users of non-US keyboard, the keys shown in the quick reference aren't always the ones you actually have to press. Non-US keyboard are quite common in Europe, because our weird letters and/or weird diacritic accents. It wouldn't solve all problems (I think it would display the "wrong" characters unless one goes for a tedious implementation), but that would at least make things easier (no need to restart the game if you want to change a key for one thing).

Besides, such a tool would still be useful for those who don't have this type of problem: for instance, as a leftie I rebind the usual WASD keys to the numeric keypad in the majority of the games I play.

Re: Internal key assignment tool

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:47 pm
by Commander McLane
Astrobe wrote:The basic problem is that the game apparently uses key scancodes instead of ASCII values.
As far as I know, the game does use ASCII values. For instance, the screenshot is simply the key labeled '*', which is SHIFT-8 (I believe) on a US keyboard, but SHIFT-+ on my German keyboard, which is what I press in order to get a screenshot.

I remapped the Advanced Space Compass key ages ago, because it is defined as '\'. But there is no such key on a German keyboard. Thus, without remapping to a key that actually exists on my keyboard, the Advanced Space Compass cycling never would have worked for me at all (not even by pressing ALT-SHIFT-/, which produces a backslash in text).

Both cases make it quite apparent that Oolite does indeed use the ASCII values and not key scancodes.

Re: Internal key assignment tool

Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:45 am
by JensAyton
Commander McLane wrote:As far as I know, the game does use ASCII values. For instance, the screenshot is simply the key labeled '*', which is SHIFT-8 (I believe) on a US keyboard, but SHIFT-+ on my German keyboard, which is what I press in order to get a screenshot.
Only the Mac version.