Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

News and discussion of the PC port of Oolite.

Moderators: another_commander, winston

Post Reply
Cmd_viperdad
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:35 am

Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by Cmd_viperdad »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the game and this is my first post on the forum. I'm building a cockpit and was hoping to display med data on external screens like flight simmers (not sure if that's the term) do with radio sets etc.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section or been asked before but I can't find any info on it.

Thanks

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by phkb »

Cmd_viperdad wrote:
Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:47 am
I'm new to the game and this is my first post on the forum.
Welcome aboard, commander!
Cmd_viperdad wrote:
Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:47 am
display med data on external screens like flight simmers
If you mean is it possible to read data from an active game and use it outside of Oolite, the answer is probably, yes, but not in the standard game. The Java Console debugging tool reads data from an active game, so you could potentially use the same pathways for this purposes. But you would need to install the developer release.

Cmd_viperdad
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:35 am

Re: Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by Cmd_viperdad »

Hmmmm, that sound complex but worth more research. Thank you for the info. I may just make some seven segments and led blink randomly lol.

User avatar
gilhad
Above Average
Above Average
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by gilhad »

I think, there is one relatively simple way:
- each OXP have access to nearly all game data, so if you look into some of OXP which display something (fighter HUD or such), you probably could copy the way, they get speed, orientation of ship etc. pretty regulary
- then you can make you own OXP, which collects data of your interest in real time
- maybe there is a way to send such data to some COM port or any other Arduino accessible place and then make light show of your choise
- or you can simply log your data in some easy to parse format (like "## SPEED: 1234") and then read Latest.log file by your own program, simply discard all other lines and parse your own lines accordingly :)

( tail -f Latest.log | grep "## "| myprog.sh )
Lady of Fate, we adore you . . .

Cmd_viperdad
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:35 am

Re: Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by Cmd_viperdad »

Thanks Gilad. That seems like a workable solution. Would it be better in java script of is it objective C the other on?

User avatar
phkb
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:37 pm
Location: [p]laying [h]ard and [k]icking [b]utt somewhere in G7...

Re: Is there a way to display game data externally in oolite

Post by phkb »

JavaScript is the weapon of choice for oxp development.

Actually, is the only weapon. But you’re still free to choose it. :D

Post Reply