Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:29 pm 
Offline
Above Average
Above Average

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 1:17 pm
Posts: 29
Quote:
I'm often rendered in C4D some Planets for other projects. I have made some planet tiles like this:

Image

after rendering it looks like this

Image

is it planned to get some detailed planets with a small texture map?
Elite 4 become true? :D
These are magnificient.

Now, if there were a gas-giant with rings, I'll think I'm in heaven...!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:30 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Shropshire, UK
If only we could persuade Ahruman and another_commander to enable the textured planets *sigh*

_________________
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:39 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Posts: 2718
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.
Think they are comming back for 1.71, but in the meantime you can use the 1.65 alternate build by D.

_________________
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.


Top
   
 Post subject: I thinbk we can
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:40 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 3092
Location: Vienna, Austria
Quote:
If only we could persuade Ahruman and another_commander to enable the textured planets
I would assume that in 1.71 the function will be possible to enable again. But perhaps we should start a planetary textures appreciation thread in the Suggestions Forum, with the petition to enable it again. I would second this ...

8)

L

P.S.: @Little Bear - we posted at the same instant, obviously :idea:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:46 pm 
Offline
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Sweden
Lobbying isn’t likely to have much effect, but you can always start a poll on whether people would prefer 1.71 to be delayed just to implement your pet feature. ;-)

_________________
E-mail: jens@oolite.org


Top
   
 Post subject: @Ahruman
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:13 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 3092
Location: Vienna, Austria
Hi Ahruman,

OK, jokes aside.

I think the planetary texture feature is one many people would love to have back on.

I also think that you are doing a great job for the heck of it (can`t be mentioned enough imo) and so I would not in earnest attempt to pressure you to do this or that. Probably couldn`t if I tried, but don`t want to anyways :)

And I do understand that the textures seem to be a buggy feature and to find it`s causes is not up there on your to-do list.

But. I think nothing speaks against implementing the feature as an alternate option to switch the planetary textures back on, am I right or not?

If there´s something I don`t get here please tell me and I promise I`ll stop mentioning it. I just don`t understand why it can`t be inserted back in as OPTIONAL. :?:

All clear?

Greetings,

L


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:24 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:21 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Shropshire, UK
How about the facility to add a planet with a particular radius?
Code:
radius = system.mainPlanet.radius + 1;
system.addPlanet("my_shiny_new_planet", radius);

_________________
Download Fighter HUD, Stingray and System Redux from the EliteWiki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:57 pm 
Offline
Grand Admiral Emeritus
Grand Admiral Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 6657
Location: Sweden
Planet radii can be specified in planetinfo.plist. I don’t intend to add more dynamic ways before the MNSR for reasons of wanting to get a release out some time this century.

_________________
E-mail: jens@oolite.org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:41 am 
Offline
Poor
Poor

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 4:10 am
Posts: 6
I am wholly sympathetic to those with low-end systems, or who have decent systems but want to keep things lean and smooth, or don't have a lot of hard drive space to throw around.

By the same token, surely those with high-end systems could be allowed to make the choice of whether or not they want to take the hit in overhead? I have two terabytes of hard drive space between my computers, and I'm perfectly willing to give up a couple gigs of HD space to have Oolite dump procedurally-generated planet textures out to a file, so that they can be read with less overhead. And I've got a fast CPU and video card, and am not especially concerned about computationally expensive operations. :)

Like I said, I completely understand the need to design so that Oolite is accessible to low-end systems. But I'm all in favor of allowing folks the option to take the hit and turn on the pretty.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:56 am 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:53 am
Posts: 734
Location: Finland
Yup, if a poll is taken, my vote goes to textured planets! :)

_________________
Author of Tales from the Frontier - official Elite 4 anthology.
Author of Marcan Rayger adventures - unofficial fan-fic novellas set in the Frontier universe.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:14 am 
Offline
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
Intergalactic Spam Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 2157
Location: Berkshire, UK
Quote:
I am wholly sympathetic to those with low-end systems, or who have decent systems but want to keep things lean and smooth, or don't have a lot of hard drive space to throw around.
It's probably a subconsience inheritance of the original restrictions, the way technology is racing ahead with speed and memory, size should not be a constraint.

_________________
The Grey Haired Commander has spoken!
OK so I'm a PC user - "you know whats scary? Out of billions of sperm I was the fastest"


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited