Oolite Bulletins

For information and discussion about Oolite.
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: no text
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 8:58 pm 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 2
Hello list ...

I am trying to run 1.65 under ubuntu feisty ... oolite comes up, the initial page showing all the ships comes up, sound works but all the text is unreadable. Bars are displayed instead.
There are plenty of err messages written to stdout most of them of the form:
don't know how to load entity ...
.:3: validity error : Validation failed: no DTD found !


I guess they can be ignored. Could it be that I am missing some fonts or so ?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions ...
--Folki


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:34 pm 
Offline
---- E L I T E ----
---- E L I T E ----
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:02 pm
Posts: 2718
Location: I escaped The Labyrinth with the assistance of my fledgling. After many battles, I'm in the Nexus.
Try changing to full screen. Admitadley this can be a bit tricky when you can't see what you are doing on the menus. Somtimes the text is all shown as bars in a window but is fine when switched to full screen.

_________________
My OXPS : The Assassins Guild, Asteroid Storm, The Bank of the Black Monks, Random Hits and Renegade Pirates can be downloaded from the Elite Wiki here.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:25 am 
Offline
Mostly Harmless
Mostly Harmless

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you for your reply ... I did change to fullscreen and it crashed instantly. Now I cannot start it at all. It keeps on crashing with error messages indicating some X problem.
If I use another user (same resoltuion and refresh rate, i.e. identical X settings) it starts up, displays text (!) but when hitting f11 it crashes as if using the beforementioned user.

Here are the error messages:
2007-10-11 10:13:57.636 oolite[5692] initialising SDL
2007-10-11 10:13:57.705 oolite[5692] init: numSticks=0
2007-10-11 10:13:57.705 oolite[5692] CREATING MODE LIST
2007-10-11 10:13:57.705 oolite[5692] Added res 1280 x 1024
2007-10-11 10:13:57.705 oolite[5692] Added res 1152 x 864
2007-10-11 10:13:57.705 oolite[5692] Added res 1024 x 768
[...]
2007-10-11 10:13:57.706 oolite[5692] Added res 320 x 240
2007-10-11 10:13:57.706 oolite[5692] Found mode {Height = 1024; RefreshRate = 0; Width = 1280; }
X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 135 (XFree86-VidModeExtension)
Minor opcode of failed request: 10 (XF86VidModeSwitchToMode)
Value in failed request: 0x4d
Serial number of failed request: 125
Current serial number in output stream: 127

I ve cut out all the tedious messages in between. Now at first sight it seems to try to switch to 1280x1024 while the actual resolution run is 1024x768. Furthermore, the refresh rate of 0 is lower than intended.

That might well accout for that problem. Ok, obviously oolite has stored a resolution to go for somewhere. I cannot find any local file (as I have deleted .oolite-run before and it now does crash instantly). Any suggestions? ... and no, purging and reinstalling the packages does not help.

Is there some way to alter the list of modes taken into consideration?

Ok, thank you for your patience and thank you in advance for any helpful reply.

Folki


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited